I Think I’m a Vampire

So, I pretty much hate the sun. When I get up in the morning, and the sky is clear and blue and the sun is shining in my window, I get depressed. When I get up in the morning and I have to turn on lights in my house because it’s so dark and gloomy out that I can’t see otherwise, well, then I’m happy.

I don’t know why this is. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I imagine that the vast majority of people are the opposite. I always hear people exclaiming over how wonderful the weather is when it’s sunny out, and complaining about how crappy the weather is when it’s cold and dark and rainy. And frankly, I wonder what’s wrong with these people. I cannot emphasize this enough. Sunlight depresses me. There have been many days when I have stomped around the house, snapping at my family and being generally grumpy and unpleasant. And on those days, I find myself wondering why in the world I’m in such a rotten mood, and more often than not, I come to realization that it’s because of the weather. The wonderful, bright, shiny, clear, blue-skied weather that most people get all happy and excited about puts me in an absolutely rotten mood.

This is true about seasons too. Most people love summer, when it’s all warm and sunny and crap. Most people get depressed about winter, when it’s cold and gloomy and snowy. I’m the complete opposite. I love cold, snowy days, and I hate warm, sunny days. The main problem is heat. I don’t handle heat well. If the temperature outside is much above 70 degrees Fahrenheit, I get all sluggish and cranky. But even sunny days in the winter make me cranky. There’s just something about sunlight that angers me.

Conversely, I delight in gloom and clouds and darkness and precipitation. Rainy days fill me with glee, and there’s no weather event that makes me happier than a rip-roarin’ blizzard. (Well, except for the fact that I have to shovel afterwards.) I don’t know what it is about gloomy weather that makes me happy and cheery weather that makes me cranky. But obviously I have a few theories, or I wouldn’t have bothered to write a blog post about it.

When I was a kid, probably 8 or 9, I was playing at a park with some other random kids, and one of them threw sand in my eyes. I ended up in the emergency room and I had to wear an eye patch for several hours/days. So maybe I’m a pirate vampire. Or a vampire pirate. Anyway, I’m also extra-sensitive to sunlight. As a kid, I always assumed that having sand thrown in my eyes is what made me extra-sensitive to sunlight, but as a more skeptical adult, I’m less convinced that there’s a correlation there. I really have no idea, since I’m not an eye doctor. The point is, for whatever reason, bright sunlight hurts my eyes.

So maybe that’s why I hate sunny days. Or maybe it’s just because everybody likes sunny days, and I have an obsessive need to hate things that “normal” people like, and like things that normal people hate. For example, I didn’t buy an iPod until last year, but I bought one of every kind of Zune ever made. Also, when the Nintendo Gamecube came out in 2001, it was available in black and purple and I, of course, bought a purple one. Finally, I couldn’t stand Nirvana as a teenager in the 90s. So perhaps I hate sunny days because liking sunny days is the “popular” thing to do.

Or maybe I’m a miserable, depressed person, and I love rainy days because they match my general mood. That’s certainly a possibility. I do wear dark clothes and listen to heavy metal. And maybe sunny days just make me bitter because they remind me of the happiness and joy that is missing from my dark and gloomy existence. I don’t think that’s it, though.

The strange thing (or perhaps it’s not so strange) is that I really don’t even understand what it is is about warm, sunny days that people like so much. From my perspective, warm, sunny days mean several negative things. First, warm days are warm, which means heat, which means that I’m more likely to sweat, which is gross. Not only that, but warm, sunny days are bright, which means that I have to squint. Which is annoying. I suppose I could wear sunglasses, but I’m just not a sunglasses kinda person, ya know? Plus, and I realize that this doesn’t apply to all places, but warm, sunny days around here mean more bugs, and I hate bugs. Mosquitoes, black flies, horse flies, you name it, if it has wings and sucks blood from mammals, then I hate it. I don’t have to worry about mosquitoes in the winter.

Which leads me to why I love winter, and dark, gloomy, precipitation-filled days in general. First of all, gloomy days are dark, so I don’t have to squint. Gloomy days are cooler, so I don’t have to sweat. And there’s just something comforting about water falling from the sky. I don’t know what it is, but watching and/or listening to snow and/or rain just fills me with a sense of… contentment.

Now, I’m not saying that gloomy days are perfectly perfect. I would much rather be outside on a warm, sunny day than on a cold, rainy day. I don’t particularly like getting wet, or being excessively cold, so as long as it’s not too buggy outside, I much prefer being outside on a sunny day than on a gloomy day. But that actually just reinforces my preferences, because I hate being outside in general. Gloomy days are thus better than sunny days, because I have more of an excuse to stay inside on a gloomy day than on a sunny day.

So yeah. I’m weird. But that’s not anything you didn’t already know if you read my blog regularly. I do wonder just how weird I am sometimes, though. I mean, I can’t be the ONLY person who prefers rainy days to sunny days. Can I?

2 thoughts on “I Think I’m a Vampire

  1. It started earlier than the sand incident. When you were probably around 5 five we were in the car on a summer day and you said, and I quote, “The warm sun makes me feel sluggish.” 🙂 And as far as you not being the only one to feel this way–so does you brother.

Leave a Reply

