Random Thoughts from a Random Mind

Once again, I find myself staring at a blank computer screen with no idea how to fill it. That’s probably the hardest thing about having a blog, the fact that I constantly have to think of things to write about. So this week, I figured I’d just start writing and see what comes out. I’ll probably end up having to scrap this whole thing once I actually think of something to write about.

I suppose I could get political. I harbor a deep and burning anger towards the Republican Party and towards the American people for voting the Republicans back into power in the House of Representatives. Yet at the same time I’m not too thrilled about the Democrats either. I tend to feel like ranting on about politics is just a big waste of time and energy anyway. After all, it’s not likely that anything a 30-year-old stay-at-home dad in rural Maine posts on the internet is going to have any resonance in the halls of power in Washington, D.C. Nor is it likely that I’m going to change the mind of any voter who happens to read this. So what’s even the point?

I could rant on about bad parenting. I have a particular situation in mind when I say that it amazes how truly terrible some people are at raising children. Obviously I’m not going to name names here, so let’s just say that it astonishes me how some people seem to have absolutely no interest in even lifting a finger to raise their own kids. I do not approve of abortion. I wholeheartedly believe that aborting an unborn baby is murder. But you know what? It is legal in this country. Not to mention that even if you were opposed to abortion, you can always give your kid up for adoption. Nobody’s forcing you to keep a kid that you have no interest in raising.

Unfortunately, this too is a situation that will not change in anyway simply because I talk about it. I’m sure there have been bad and lazy parents since the beginning of time, and there will be until Jesus comes back and puts an end to all this nonsense.

I suppose I could talk about technology some more. I’m still thoroughly smitten by the iPod Touch. It really is a fantastic device. The only thing is that I still need to use my Zune HD for music, because most of my music is stuff that I downloaded using a Zune Pass, and that will only play on a Zune. I would love to be able to switch to Rhapsody, which is another subscription service that offers an app for the iPod. They have a very nice selection, and in fact it’s slightly cheaper than the Zune Pass as well, although if my wife wanted to use it too, then it would be the same price. The problem is that the Zune Pass allows you to pick 10 songs every month that you want to keep, whereas Rhapsody does not. So if I switched to Rhapsody, I wouldn’t be able to keep building my permanent collection. Which means I’m probably going to just stick with the Zune Pass for now. Oh well.

One thing that’s really wonderful about the iPod Touch is how capable it is as a gaming platform. For one, the 4th generation iPod Touch is a beast of a machine. Games that are designed specifically for it, such as Infinity Blade, are absolutely gorgeous, with graphics that rival those of the Playstation 3 or Xbox 360. For two, these games are dirt cheap. The aforementioned Infinity Blade only cost me 6 bucks. A game of comparable quality on the PS3 or Xbox would easily cost 60 bucks.

(Well, maybe not. The developer of Infinity Blade, Chair, also made a game for the Xbox 360 called Shadow Complex, which was fantastic, and it only cost 15 bucks. Still though, 6 < 15. Plus, Infinity Blade has better graphics.)

I suppose I could talk about the fact that Christmas is coming up. I’ve always loved Christmas. It’s not just the presents, although I’d be a bald-faced liar if I said I didn’t care about presents at all. But there’s just a… a… an atmosphere, I guess you could call it, to Christmas that’s just unmatched by any other time of the year. I suppose as a Christian I should say that the main reason I love Christmas is because it celebrates the birth of my Savior. But if I’m being perfectly honest, I would have to say that that fact doesn’t really factor into it that much.

First of all, Jesus almost certainly wasn’t born on December 25, so Christmas is really just a symbolic thing. Secondly, as the pastor at my church emphasized in his sermon this week, as important as the birth of Christ is, it pales in significance to the reason that Jesus took on human form in the first place. Jesus didn’t become a baby simply for the sole purpose of becoming a baby. That baby grew up to become a man, and that man walked on water, healed the sick, restored sight to the blind, fed thousands of people with a few loaves of bread, and performed countless other signs and wonders to prove that he was who he said he was, i.e. the Son of God. And then, this man, who faced all the same temptations that we are faced with and yet did not succumb, took on the punishment that was supposed to be inflicted on us, because we sinned and rebelled against God. And then he rose again from the dead to prove that he is victorious over death, and that he has the power to save us from death as well.

So it’s good to think about the birth of Jesus around Christmas time. But it’s much better to remember why Jesus came into our world in the first place, and what he accomplished while he was here, and what he is still accomplishing right now.

Anyway, as promised, I gave you a little bit of everything that’s been on my mind lately. It’s actually not too bad, if I do say so myself, so I think I’ll keep it. Maybe next week you’ll get a blog post that’s a little more focused. I wouldn’t cross my fingers though.

3 thoughts on “Random Thoughts from a Random Mind

    1. I see what you’re saying. I guess I figure that Christ is the most important thing in life, period, not just at Christmas time. So while celebrating Jesus is the most important thing about Christmas, that’s true about every other time of the year too. So in a way, Jesus isn’t what makes Christmas special. Does that make sense, or am I just being totally blasphemous?

      1. I see what you are saying as well, and no, I don’t think it is blasphemous. From my standpoint Christmas isn’t special–only Jesus is. Most of the things I loved about Christmas growing up have been taken away from me. But Christ remains.

Leave a Reply

