What to Do, What to Do…

So now I have a blog. I’ve been wanting to start a blog for some time now, but I recently was given enough of an incentive to actually start one. See, right now my occupation is to stay home with my kids and take care of them and clean the house. It doesn’t pay well, but there are some significant benefits (generally in the form of smiles and hugs). But recently, my mother and I were discussing what I was planning to do once the kids were in school. I said that I was hoping to start writing my book, the one that’s been in the planning stages since I was a junior in high school (that’s, uh, 1998, in case you were wondering). So she told me that I should start a blog, so that I could practice my writing skills. I responded that I would love to have a blog, but having two small children made it hard to find time to do anything but take care of two small children. So she said that she wanted to do something to give me an incentive to blog, and told me that if I posted a 1000 word essay every week, she would give me some money towards buying a new laptop, which is something I desperately want. And so this blog was born.

Having never blogged before, I’m not entirely sure what form this blog will ultimately take, but I do have some ideas in mind. I envision it primarily being a place where I can ramble on at length about some of my favorite topics, namely music, video games, politics and religion.

I do have one concern, and I’m curious to see if it is well-founded or not. I come from a politically conservative family, and I married into a politically conservative family. I also have (mostly) politically conservative friends. I, however, am not politically conservative. I used to be. I voted for Bush in 2004, and I would have voted for him in 2000 if I hadn’t been too lazy to vote back then. But I did not vote for Bush McCain in 2008. I voted for Obama. Mostly what changed is that in between 2004 and 2008, I went to college. Which of course sounds like I have no opinions of my own and just believe whatever the majority of people around me believe. And if I end up voting for Sarah Palin in 2012 (God forbid!), after several years out of college, then I’ll have to admit that that’s probably the case. But I’d like to think that my opinions are a little bit more deeply engrained then that.

To complicate matters, I am also a Christian. And there seems to be an unwritten rule among conservative Christians that it is impossible to be a Christian and a liberal. So I find myself in a position where I often feel like I can’t freely express my beliefs without offending/angering the people I’m close to. So I’m excited to have a place like this where I can rant on about what I believe and mostly likely nobody I know will ever see it, which gives me a chance to vent without running the risk of getting into a political argument with anyone, a possibility that I generally dread.

However, this first post was never meant to be about politics. I don’t particularly feel like starting things off with such a weighty topic. Instead, I want to talk about something much more important: what should I do with the money my mom is giving me as an incentive to blog?

First of all, as I mentioned earlier, my original goal was to buy a new laptop. I have a little Lenovo netbook, and it’s alright, but it’s as slow as really thick mud and gets terrible battery life. Plus it’s got a fairly small hard drive (160 GB) – plenty of room for music, but not very much room for video. I would love to have at least 500 GB, so I would have plenty of room for TV shows and movies, plus home movies of the kids. But a good laptop is pretty expensive, and it’s going to take me a while to save up enough money to get one.

Option number two is to buy a decent desktop and hook it up to my HDTV. Gateway makes a nice desktop with a Core i3 processor, 6 GB of RAM, and a 1 TB hard drive that sells for about $560 – a steal for such a nice computer. I could use this desktop as a sort of digital hub – a place for all of our music, movies, pictures, and whatnot, plus it would be a heck of a lot faster than the little netbook I’m using now. And, I could keep the netbook and use it the way it was intended to be used – as a companion to my primary computer, not as my actual primary computer. The downside is that if I wanted to, say, use the internet while sitting on the toilet, I’d still have to use it on this sloooooooow netbook.

The third option is by far the cheapest. For $95, I could buy a 640 GB hard drive and put it in my Playstation 3. That would give me plenty of room for TV shows and movies that I would download from the Playstation Network. I would also be able to put some of our pictures and home videos on it. However, it really couldn’t be the end-all, be-all digital hub that a Windows laptop or desktop would be. For one, the web browser on the PS3 is crap. Second, some of our home videos are on an external hard drive that the PS3, for some reason, doesn’t recognize. While I probably could, in theory, figure out a way to move the videos on that drive to the PS3, it wouldn’t be as easy as just plugging the drive in and transferring the videos. I also couldn’t put most of my music on the PS3, because I use a Zune Pass to get most of my music, and the PS3 and the Zune Pass are not compatible with each other. Another problem is that I would only be able to get videos from the Playstation Store, rather than getting them from wherever the heck I feel like.

So, which one should I get? If anybody actually reads this first post, post your comments and let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “What to Do, What to Do…

  1. Woo Hooo! You’re off to a good start! In fact you’re ahead of the game. I was wondering how you were doing with it. My "studio" is close to being usable, although it isn’t as splendid as I could hope it will be a good starting point. So, it looks like neither one of us will have to eat a worm this week. 😉

Leave a Reply

